top of page
Search

July 30, 2021-Ride # 12-100.14kms (Made it to the halfway point!)

It has taken longer than I originally thought it would, but I am very happy to have made it to the halfway point of my goal, 100kms! When I consider the issues I had with my calves, then my hamstring, the completion of this fundraiser was very much in doubt. While I still have a long way to go, and while it is still uncertain if I will be able to reach 200kms, needing at least 9-10 rides to reach that distance, I am rolling again! I really enjoyed this ride for a number of reasons. Ulises Gonzalez from CMHA-Middlesex/Elgin and Brian Savoni, a long-time CMHA participant and speaker at the Mental Health Week virtual program, were both kind enough to join me for part of my ride, and also provided off the cuff, motivating interviews, which I am confident you will enjoy, assuming you don't mind a rustling wind in the background-no noise cancelling equipment here lol. To my surprise, not only did Jodie Boyd-CMHA-Elgin/Middlesex Peer Support Worker do some good camera work for me, she also cycled 57kms with me! Chatting away while cycling really helped eat up the kilometres! You couldn't have asked for a better day to cycle in the city: blue sky, nice cool breeze, a few clouds to break up the heat, just beautiful! Was it all roses though? Not a chance! lol.


My right hamstring tightened up about 70kms into my ride, so I had to be careful to work around that! I also had some strange interactions on the pathway, which I had to mentally battle through. Then, what is becoming the dreaded last 10-15kms! Let me explain: what has become a pattern is that no matter the distance now, when I am about 10-15kms from the finish, a huge fatigue wall often hit me, both physical and mental, and each kilometre starts to feel twice as long, and it begins to seem like I I will never stop pedaling and never get off this bicycle lol. I also had to cycle around and around and around the neighbourhood, because darkness had set in, and I had not yet reached 100kms. Something came up and my mom needed my help, and so I seriously considered stopping at just past 90kms, but with my mom's support I pushed on, and I got there! 100kms! I have to say, the bicycle shorts with built-in padding that I bought, while feeling a bit weird to walk around in, significantly helped reduce the butt soreness lol. I was getting to the point that I might have followed a suggestion and simply sat on a big pillow he he. Something that someone said to me today really hit home with me; you guys have heard me talk about my injury issues and how I have been working through them, but what this person said really made me think. They mentioned that what message would I be sending if I significantly injured myself, even permanently, to reach this goal? Would anyone want that for me? I also recognized that I might actually end up sending the wrong message, that of having people think that in order to do worthwhile things, one has to be extreme and abuse themselves, thinking which has never been part of my intentions. So, yes, I will continue to pursue my journey, but if my body at some point says I cannot do this, then I hope to humbly step aside, because I do believe that no one would want to see me abuse my body to spread a message, not even this powerful, important message, as that would not be showing proper love for myself or provide the right encouragement.


With all that being said, boom, a 100kms! This was a pretty cool milestone to hit! I hope you enjoy the video blogs, and photos I took along the way as well, and again, I recommend you check out the interviews! I hope you are all enjoying my journey, and I continue to encourage you to share it with others, as you never know who may be helped by it! I also welcome you to give a donation of any amount to help show your support of what I am trying to do here, and be a part of helping me make this 5-month journey a full success! Please help me get the word out about what I am doing here! :). Thank you and stay mentally resilient!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page